Tip of the Week #51 – “Old Users”

PrintVis Tip of the Week #51 – Old Users!

Senior Consultant Kit Tomshøj joins us this week to help you clean up the virtual clutter. We are talking about how to delete users who are no longer with the company, or perhaps have changed roles in the company.

So – you are the internal IT guy.

So – don’t you simply hate your users?

And then what happens if you try to get rid of them? They are never really gone!

It’s really annoying how much you have to think of to properly do that – it’s getting in the way of your coffee break and early Friday plans.

Let me help you – at least with the PrintVis steps you have to take.

PrintVis User:

  1. Rename the Job Costing Journal for the user to OLD
  2. Delete the Job Costing journal
  3. Rename the Capacity resource to OLD

(Look in 13. for more info)

  1. Check out the Salespeople and the Purchaser tables – rename to OLD and delete
  2. Remember to find out if there is an employee number – rename and delete
  3. Rename the user login to OLD
  4. Delete the user
  5. Then finally find the NAV user list (Users) and delete the user there.
  6. When you have been through the list, please remember that other users may have setup on their cards which pointed to this user as their sales person or coordinator. Their setup will now say OLD, so this must be changed to the new somebody-who-took-over.
  7. PrintVis Cases, NAV sales orders, purchase orders and other documents may now have salespeople, coordinators, estimators which are saying OLD
  8. If the user has been mentioned in the setup for the Responsibility Areas table, you must also change this setup.
  9. Your Customer or vendor cards may now have a Salesperson/Purchaser with code OLD.
    Why is that better that the original user code?
    Because this makes it obvious that there is something wrong, and otherwise the company carries on without addressing the issue of ‘who is now the salesperson?’
  10. Old Salespersons data
    Your Case Cards will now have salesperson OLD on them referring to an empty place in the salespersons table, and it will impair the users when copying, so they will fuss about it before you know it.
    If you don’t like this, keep the salesperson OLD, and wait with deleting until next time you want to get rid of a salesperson. Or, make sure they know which other user to replace OLD with.
    Then you can delete OLD and rename the next salesperson to OLD and keep that. (Reprint the name or it’s confusing)
    Your existing sales orders will now say OLD – you must change this on each of them (the others users can still post, but it’s a bit untidy)
  11. Old Purchaser data:
    Your old Purchase Orders and invoices will now say OLD. You must change this on each of them (well… it’s untidy if you don’t and management will blame you on some future meeting, so make someone do it if you are heading out to golf)
  12. Old Capacity Resource data:
    This is set on mainly the case cards and the time recordings.

The time recordings are posted data – so nothing will happen with them.
The Case Card will still show the original user name in field Responsible, even though the capacity resource was deleted. It will be confusing and you will spend more time hearing complaints from users than it will take to inform them and make them change this themselves on their cases.

So, after running through this short list of TO-DO’s, you may still be out of the office before some of the users you haven’t gotten rid of begin to ask you about backups, C: drives and network printers not working…

Thank you Kit!

Call Now Button